French Toast Eggs (w/ pictures!)

Yes, that’s what I wrote, French Toast Eggs.  I know it seems bizarre and Marshall still thinks I am completely out of my mind (he thinks a lot of the things I eat are strange and blames my French Canadian heritage… he is also French Canadian… just saying).  According to Marshall eggs should be salted, should be nowhere near cream cheese and should never intentionally be covered in syrup.  My response was, “So put salt on them”. 🙂

I can thank my mother for this little gem and it has worked wonders for my pancake/waffle/french toast desires.  It is super easy, super tasty and I’ve been eating every morning for a week now.  It’s been a  good choice as I haven’t been able to test much (been testing 2x a day) because of a test strip shortage (I have some in the mail to me but as they are not here yet and the tracking info has said, “shipment has left  seller facility and is in transit to carrier-” for two days now, I’m not holding my breath.  I have four strips  left, I’m assuming I will run out tomorrow- yay me.  In all fairness I shouldn’t complain about waiting for them to ship, it is only thirteen days before Christmas and I just ordered them Saturday morning- had to wait for Marshall’s paycheck- he’s a keeper, for sure) and it is super low carb and predictably digested.  Now to get back on track, FRENCH TOAST EGGS!  EEEK!

These are the simple ingredients for a glorious D-friendly breakfast!

These are the simple ingredients for a glorious D-friendly breakfast!

So as I wrote before, super easy.  The ingredients are the same things you would use to make french toast except no bread, add cream cheese (if you’ve made stuffed french toast then perhaps you are used to cream cheese?).  So I beat 2 eggs (I’ve used 3 and it was a little too much for  me but if you would like more egg then multiply the recipe) in a mug, though common sense tells me that you could use whatever vessel makes you happy.  I don’t put milk in the eggs, I use water- it makes the eggs much more fluffy (also cuts down on carbs, we are using cream cheese after all), the more fluffy the eggs are the more they seem like french toast.  I beat in cinnamon to taste, though apparently even just 1 tsp. of cinnamon a day will help to lower bad cholesterol, increase good cholesterol, help to regulate blood sugars, lower blood pressure, and boost the immune system! (I’ve read all these different things in a multitude of places and have also been told by a nutritionist and 2 CDEs) I also beat in about 1 tsp. of vanilla.  Warm a skillet (I use a fairly small pan for thicker eggs, experiment with it, decide for yourself), oil/butter/grease the pan and pour the eggs in.

Eggs in the pan!  Smells just like French Toast!

Eggs in the pan! Smells just like French Toast!

Allow the eggs to cook at least half way through, a low temperature works well to allow the eggs to cook without browning them up too much.  Once the eggs are well cooked through on the first side you will have to flip them, like a pancake.  I know it sounds intimidating and it’s another reason to use a smaller pan, but you can do it!  As long as you’ve let the eggs cook enough they should pretty much hold their shape long enough for you to do a quick flip.  Hint:  If your eggs seem like they would break apart when you try to pick them up with the spatula then they haven’t cooked enough!

Eggs, post-flip, I over cooked them a little bit trying to make sure I got enough pictures of all the steps...

Eggs, post-flip, I over cooked them a little bit trying to make sure I got enough pictures of all the steps…

Once the eggs are flipped it’s time to prepare your cream cheese!  You could forgo the cream cheese if you don’t like it, you can also add or use other things as filling- just don’t forget to calculate the carbs accordingly for any substitutions!  I use a brick of cream cheese so I can slice pieces off.  Each sliced piece is squished between my fingers to thin it out then I lay the pieces on half of the circle like tiles.  You can use more or less cream cheese to your liking, I personally LOVE cream cheese so… I’m generous :).  Cream cheese with berries would be excellent I’m sure, I know people that put Peanut but on their french toast and in all honesty- pretty much anything you like on FT will work here, no joke.

Cream Cheese tiles :)  (It is obvious to me that I need to get out more, I enjoy putting cream cheese on eggs TOO much...)

Cream Cheese tiles 🙂 (It is obvious to me that I need to get out more, I enjoy putting cream cheese on eggs TOO much…)

Next I fold the eggs over, just as if making an omelet and folding fillings into the eggs.  I wait to fold the eggs until they are cooked so I don’t have to try and flip it again.  Once I fold it I turn the stove off and let it warm the cream cheese from the residual heat of the pan.

Folded and waiting, Grammy would say it's  "getting happy" in the pan.

Folded and waiting, Grammy would say it’s “getting happy” in the pan.

Next comes the exciting part!  I slide my glorious concoction onto a plate a put on some syrup.  I use Cary’s sugar free syrup, and only half a serving.  Obviously you can use as much or as little as you choose, or even use a different topping (i.e. honey, powdered sugar, granulated sugar, etc.)- again, don’t forget to calculate carbs for any changes to the recipe!  You could also add breakfast sausage, bacon, or other breakfast proteins to this meal to fill yourself up a bit more.  It is totally delicious and when you make your eggs fluffy enough you can hardly tell they are eggs!  I have become recently obsessed with this and it’s been my breakfast every morning- perfect for days when I’m running high, and if I need more carbs I add some toast!

On my plate, syrup added and waiting for consumption!  :)

On my plate, syrup added and waiting for consumption! 🙂 (I use a small plate, it seems the trick me into thinking I got a lot of food.)

Two Eggs- 0 carbs

Cinnamon (to taste)- 0 carbs

Vanilla (approx. 1 tsp)-0 carbs

Cream Cheese (I use a little over an ounce for about 3 carbs)- 2 carbs per serving

Sugar Free Syrup 1/8 cup (half serving)- 6 carbs

Great breakfast with no “concentrated” carbs for about 8-10 carbs per serving, excellent.

Leave a Reply

