New Toy

In the grand scheme of diabetes toys, what I received today is no show stopper.  But, for me- living with no insurance, this is a pretty exciting thing.  A while ago (a few weeks before Christmas sometime) I filled out some information online to apply for the NovaMax Plus: glucose and ketone meter.  In all honesty, I have filled out so many of these ‘free offers’ that didn’t amount to anything I had completely forgotten it was even a possibility.  Then, a couple days ago I received a shipment notification from UPS and thought someone was trying to involve me in some strange mail scam.  After reading which company asked I be notified I looked it up and managed to put two and two together!  Hooray, a new toy!

I was pretty excited when I opened this box.

I was pretty excited when I opened this box.

Now I have not had a ketone tester, ever.  In fact, until recently I didn’t even have urine ketone test strips (some form of ketone test should be in every diabetics toolkit).  There are plenty of times that I really should have tested for ketones, having been sick, consistent high glucose readings etc.  Now I am actually prepared!

Check out my new goodies!

Check out my new goodies!

 

Two ketone strips, wrapped in  foil.  I hope I don't loose them!

Two ketone strips, wrapped in foil. I hope I don’t loose them!

I admit upon pulling all the parts out of the box I was a little disappointed, there was a ten strip vial of glucose test strips and only two (yup, 2) ketone strips.  I guess with the price of ketone strips I should be glad for any, I mean really I should be pumped about anything for free.  It just seems like two strips is kind of a tease…  All well, I tested the meter (using a glucose strip, I want to save the ketone strips for when I need them) and with a glucose 112mg/dl it seems to be working perfectly.  I admit I am a little afraid to lose the two, tiny strips with their small foil backing.  I slipped them in the carrying case that came with the meter.  I put them in the pocket that the meter fits into but the case is less than desirable in my opinion.  I got excited at the prospect of a new case for my things but this one is very small and hardly even fits the things that are supposed to be in it!

*Not sure if you can see in the picture but the pouch where the lancets are kept is not secure and in fact, when I unzip the bag, they are all over the inside...

*Not sure if you can see in the picture but the pouch where the lancets are kept is not secure and in fact, when I unzip the bag, they are all over the inside…

As far as overall size the case that came with the Nova Max Plus is fantastic, at least in the fantasy land

where you really only need to carry a meter, a few test strips, a lancing device with a few spare lancets*, and the meter itself.  But let’s be real, that is never enough stuff for a diabetic to make it through a day.  What about glucose tablets, insulin, syringes, back up strips, back up battery, medical information card, alcohol swabs etc.?  I really am not a fan of multiple satchels.  It is hard enough keeping everything around and not losing any important pieces, the last thing I need is to keep track of is a second bag, with the other half of my important things in it.  So, I will continue my search for the perfect diabetes supply bag, making sure to keep my expectations high and refusing to settle on an inferior product. 🙂

I will be sure to keep you posted on my experiences with this meter as well as with shopping around for it’s accessories.

Hope those of you who are also experiencing the snow are finding a way to enjoy it!  Judah is a HUGE fan of this type of weather.

One thought on “New Toy

  1. have judah carry a backup for you, i got a harness with 2 backpacks for lizzy. this way lizzy can carry things she needs and anything extra for me. small and light weight. glad judah likes this weather, so does lizzy. do you have pics of judah in the snow.

Leave a Reply

