Judah is Featured on Petfinder!

Well our little Judah is become quit the internet celebrity! 😛  Yesterday, I logged on to check my blog (what seems like a shameful, nearly obsessive ritual at this point) and had an extremely high volume of views.  In fact, not just views but actual separate hits on the blog.  *WordPress is fantastic and tracks the views on your blog and recently began tracking not just views but individual hits.  So you can see how many different computers viewed your blog and then how many different posts and pages were looked at.*  Now I would love to think that this is because of my amazing skills with the written* (*typed) word, but I am not so audacious as to make statements or assumptions like that.  So I back tracked where most of the hits were coming from and it led me to petfinder.com and their blog.

Now, I had submitted a “happy tail” to petfinder.com because I always love reading those stories and figured people (at least bleeding hearts like me that spend their time reading stories like that) would enjoy a cool story like Judah‘s.  I was also hoping that it would continue to impress upon people the possibilities with rescue dogs.  All too often people assume that when they rescue they are inheriting the problems of someone else, that’s most often not really the case.  With basic commitment to health, exercise, rules, and boundaries you and your dog can start a new life from the moment you meet.  Alright, to me this is another post in the making so I will not harangue you further on this topic.  Back to the purpose of this post, Judah’s fame! 😉

I was recently contacted by Joan, a staff writer for the Petfinder blog about sending her some photographs of Judah so she could write a blog post about him and possibly another piece (she apparently writes for other publications too, *blissful sigh*).  Of course, I was instantly agreeable to the idea and told her I would gather them and send them off after Christmas.   Well, Christmas turned to the New Year and I finally sent off some pictures.  She e-mailed me back and asked for some higher resolution pictures (many of the ones I sent were probably cell phone pictures that were posted on facebook or something) and I agreed to take some pictures of him and send them.  Of course, then life comes in and interferes with your plans.

My grandfather was recently admitted to the hospital and over the span of about a week was readmitted and scheduled for a double bypass.  Not only do my grandparents now live in Arizona, but he is on blood thinners and steroids- both not terribly compatible with being cut open.  So needless to say I was not thinking clearly about promises I had made at that point.  Joan, being patient and kind sent me a friendly reminder of he need for better pictures.  My father had since been put on a plane to Arizona so tensions were eased on the home front and I snatched up the camera for a “photo shoot”.  Really what happened was I sat Judah on the hearth of the fireplace and took some pictures with my mother’s camera, and sat him in front of the shower curtain in my bathroom and took some pictures.  He was totally confused at the purpose of this little exercise and actually started searching for scent samples at one point, poor guy.  I sent the pictures off to Joan and then went about my business.

(Two of) Our Boys; Jordan (left) and Judah (right) sleeping in the back seat of the car.

Well when my blog ‘blew up’ yesterday I managed to track it back to her post (she called him “precious”, I swear it makes him more adorable).  She actually linked to my blog (eek!) right in her post (I had given her the sight so she could have access to more information about Judah).  I was flattered and excited that so many people clicked on it.  Needless to say, that put me on cloud 9 for the rest of the day- what can I say?  I really don’t get out much so when a lot of people read my words I get pumped 🙂 .  The picture she used in her blog post was actually an older one, and probably my favorite picture.  It’s the same one that I had at the end of an older post that made Bigfoot‘s heart all mushy.

But, alas, today when I log onto to my blog, a dud.  Not one hit, then a couple small blips on the screen a few hours later, probably my mother and some other relative that saw the link on facebook.  It was totally thrilling yesterday though and I enjoyed the excitement it brought to me.  It does motivate me to get back to a more quality style of writing, perhaps at least using proper grammar and sentence structure.  Oh!  Definitely less spell check corrections and more “remember the English language” corrections.  Who knows maybe if I really buckle down someone will want to pay me for my words, then I’d never leave the house…

He couldn't manage to keep his eyes open...

He couldn’t manage to keep his eyes open…

I should have known it wasn't a good time for a photo shoot when I had to wake him up to do it...

This is where he started doing a "sweep" for a scent sample (thinking this was a training exercise).

This is where he started doing a “sweep” for a scent sample (thinking this was a training exercise).

Once I brought him into the bathroom he went into full distress.  Not a bath! (For a dog that LOVES water he HATES baths)  It took me a while to get him to calm down and realize this had nothing to do with a bath either...

Once I brought him into the bathroom he went into full distress. Not a bath! (For a dog that LOVES water he HATES baths) It took me a while to get him to calm down and realize this had nothing to do with a bath either…

Next we had to conquer the flash making his eyes close...

Next we had to conquer the flash making his eyes close…

FYI: He went immediately back to sleep after I stopped taking pictures...

FYI: He went immediately back to sleep after I stopped taking pictures…

Finally I gave in and started doing all the things I HATE that people do to get their dogs pumped...  "What's that?!", "You wanna go out?"

Finally I gave in and started doing all the things I HATE that people do to get their dogs pumped… “What’s that?!”, “You wanna go out?”

"Where's the puppy?", and the WORST one of all for Judah... "You wanna run?" So mean...

“Where’s the puppy?”, and the WORST one of all for Judah… “You wanna run?” So mean…

At least he didn't hold me to the run thing... he quickly decided the coldest dog bed in the house was a better option at the time. :)

At least he didn’t hold me to the run thing… he quickly decided the coldest dog bed in the house was a better option at the time. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Judah is Featured on Petfinder!

  1. how cool is that!! Judah is a star! My sister is founder of the largest rescue group in middle Georgia. It is called Central Georgia CARES. She developed a mascot whose name is AC PUP. Of course the AC stands for animal control. AC has 3 websites , over 15,000 friends and a weekly column in the newspaper here titled AC PUP SPEAKS. Pull up AC’s facebook page and check him out. Or check out my sisters at Central Georgia CARES and tell her I sent you. Her name is Patti Jones (I think somebody must help AC type because he doesn’t have thumbs)

Leave a Reply

