Pump It Up! Or In I Suppose…

All right I have reached a new phase of my D-life.  This is the step that I thought was a dream for the distant future.  However it is, in fact, a reality.  I am now a “pumper”.  On Thursday (April 4th) I had my second appointment with New Doc. (I haven’t found the perfect blog alias for her yet… any suggestions?) and while it began a little late it was the most exciting appointment to date.  I of course, do not have a car right now and live in the middle of no where New Hampshire so I hitched a ride to “town” with my mother.  Judah and I went for a walk when we first arrived and then went to a local coffee shop for coffee and my worst D breakfast ever.  A bagel, whole wheat everything fresh made daily to be more specific.  Yum.  I still haven’t figured out how to bolus for this glorious breakfast gift from the universe however and got to spend the rest of the time until my appointment trying to get my sugar back down so it would be ‘perfect’ for the pump switch over.

After a glucose of 300 mg/dl, 2 corrections and a couple walks around the block the time was fast approaching to head up to the hospital, where the diabetes center is located.  I was glad to have had so much time before my appointment to run through the range of emotions before it was time to sit down and get to business.  I had spent the last week studying up on Medtronic and insulin pumps.  I tried to do the training on their website but, well, the short version is without the serial number from your pump and a registered account you can’t do jack on their website, including ordering accessories. <– This is totally lame, just saying.  I did however get access to their written instruction packet and some youtube videos that were extremely helpful.  I was so excited all week long about getting a pump, about how it was going to change things, it was positively fantastic.  Then, we were heading out the door Thursday morning Marshall found me sitting at the top of the stairs in a bit of a fog.  He snickered at me and asked, “Are you scared now?”

“I think so.”  I can only imagine the blank stare I was giving him, I felt hot and cold all at the same time.

“Ah baby, you’ll be alright, this is a good thing.”

“I know, but it’s scary too.  I mean if something goes wrong with it while I am sleeping… BAM, I wake up in DKA.”

“You know that in reality that could happen any time.  You wanted this and it’s gonna be great.”

Insert hug on the stairs here. *Side not; I love hugs on the stairs, they make me feel tall (I’m 5 feet).  “Alright, I gotta go.  Love!”

I spent the rest of the morning on a little bit of a roller coaster thinking about how great it would be and how bad it could be if something went wrong.  I walked, watched a movie sprawled out in the sun, walked some more and somehow made a 12 oz coffee last until Noon.

My mom gave me a lift up to the office and I made my way inside.  I was pretty early and sat in the waiting room with Judah.  After New Doc. and her Newbie (nice girl, and Judah has a crush on her) had scarfed down some lunch I was brought into a room and the appointment began.  I was a little more ahead of the game than I think anyone was expecting so New Doc was able to teach Newbie about the pump as well.  I told her the ratios that I use and different times of day I tend to trend high or low.  We did the math, decided on my basal rates and put in my ratios.  Talked about how to set temp basals and how to respond to different alarms and situations.  I was feeling good, didn’t have many questions and was ready to hook it up.  Then there it was, bump bump.  “What is it?”  There were those Almond eyes staring at me, concerned.  Both ladies stop and look, as I pull out my kit and test.

“Good boy, good low.”

“What was it?” Asked New Doc.

“69, good low Judah.”

“OH, wow.  Good boy!”  Well of course this is followed by praise all around the room, treating of the low and the usual hypo aftermath.

Finally, the time had come.  Filled the reservoir and primed the pump.  She walked me through how to prep and insert a sight and I was off to the races.  Put in the sight, no problem, didn’t even feel it.  Fixed prime and we were pumpin’ baby!  We went over some final things, she filled a box with supplies, a new meter, test strips, and some new fast acting glucose samples and I was off.  I was on cloud 9 for the rest of the day and the whole next day.  On the second full day my bubble was burst it just made me think of this post, perhaps I too thought the pump meant everything would be perfect forever…?) a little when I fought with highs all day but I’m still feeling good about it.

Even meeting with someone about a possible job tomorrow!  Not sure how I am getting home from said meeting but I have a ride there!  Hopefully the weather will be nice, and we can walk. 😛

4 thoughts on “Pump It Up! Or In I Suppose…

  1. I can’t wait to hear more about how a pump works out for you! It sounds like you did really well with getting on it for the first time. I still remember getting my first pump (in 2002) and I can totally sympathize with it being scary but exciting but scary… I’m glad you’ve got Judah taking care of you, and I’ve been awakened in the night by a furry friend (or two) due to a failing pump site, so he might make that a lot less stressful for you. Good luck, and if you ever need anything, I’m here for you!

  2. I am so happy for you! You are so right–it’s scary: what if it malfunctions? But for YOU, Judah would get all crazytown and you could fix that all right up. It sounds like you’re a total pro already.

    Please keep writing about it! I’ve kind of forgetten the benefits, except for having different basal rates for different times of day.

Leave a Reply

